Leave a comment

MMCC awards 8 full-ride scholarships to outstanding students

Mid Michigan Community College launched a new competitive scholarship program this year, which awards eight exceptional high school seniors with full-ride scholarships. Laker Distinction (LD) Scholarships are offered at two award levels, with four of each being awarded.


The scholarship’s traditional level provides for 31 credits worth of tuition and fees. Presidential LD Scholarships, the highest awards, include 62 credits (the equivalent of an associate’s degree) worth of tuition and fees. The Presidential LD Scholarship is renewable and includes a $500/semester stipend for books and school supplies.


To qualify for LD Scholarships, applicants must be Michigan high school seniors with a 3.5 GPA or better.


Selection for the 2013 scholarships occurred over the course of two months, and applicants attended two events at MMCC as they progressed through the process. Final determinations were based on applicants’ leadership, service, and academic performance, which were assessed through a variety of measures. Students submitted creative response pieces, wrote on-campus essay responses, and, for those moving to the final round of selection, underwent a series of short interviews with MMCC personnel.


“We know that a lot of these high caliber students see MMCC as a gateway to their future educations, so we took the selection process very seriously,” said Chris Pellerito, MMCC admissions representative. “We wanted to ensure that review was impartial, fair, and considered the scope of abilities that students have—we really wanted a chance to get to know the applicants as much as possible.”


Recipients for the Presidential Laker Distinction Scholarships include:

Sheridan Ervin (Sacred Heart Academy, Mt. Pleasant)

Caleb Loomis (Alma High School)

Tenley McLaughlin (Gladwin Home Schooled)

Paige Onstott (Clare High School)

Recipients for the Traditional LDS are:

Mikaeli Campbell (Mt. Pleasant High School)

Kent Feiss (St. Louis High School)

Keegan Rohdy (Farwell High School)

Janine Sasse (Coleman High School)


“It’s impossible to convey how challenging final selection was,” noted Jessie Gordon, MMCC’s Director of Admissions. “The applicants were outstanding—I think that all of us who spent time with these students have renewed hopes for our future leaders. Our local communities include some truly remarkable young people.”

To learn more about the Laker Distinction Scholarships at MMCC, visit midmich.edu/distinction or contact Jessie Gordon at (989) 317-4626 or jmgordon@midmich.edu.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: