Leave a comment

Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members

On Friday, Oct. 10, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society inducted 48 new members into the Alpha Omicron Omicron Chapter at Mid Michigan Community College. To join the honor society, students must have a 3.5 Grade Point Average or higher and have completed at least 12 credit hours at MMCC.

Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society encourages the academic achievements of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2 million members and 1,275 chapters throughout the world.

Chartered on April 18, 1989, MMCC’s chapter has a longstanding tradition of excellence. For the past seven years, Alpha Omicron Omicron (AOO) has obtained the highest achievement level for a chapter—5 Star status. Through its activities, the chapter meaningfully serves the college and community. AOO is a friendly, active, community-oriented chapter.

As he addressed the new inductees, Gavin Chupp, chapter president, noted some of the advantages of joining Phi Theta Kappa: “Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society programs encourage students to work closely with administrators on campus, just as they would higher management in the workplace. Students also engage in projects designed to encourage and develop lifelong service-oriented leaders by supporting campus and local entities that will help the college and community grow. Our members build a strong network and support system in the program, and many of our alumni have become lifelong friends.”

PTK_fall_2014PHOTO: Front row (L-R) and (Major): Danielle Kohler (Graphic Design), Margini Schafer (Health Sciences), Makayla McQuiston (Psychology), Rachel Brown (Therapeutic Recreation),Haley Hensley (Elementary Education), Ashlee Hobbs (Nursing), Christina Isaac (Accounting), Sydney Hubbard (Biology), Shayann Richardson (Diagnostic Medical Sonography), Chelsea Jeske (Physical Therapy Assistant).

Back row (L-R) and (Major): Rebekah Averill (Nuclear Engineering), Cassie LaBonville (Business), Brian Tice (Computer Information Systems Networking), Heather Garno (Nursing), Alexandria Lobert (Nursing), Whitney Smith (General Studies), Michael McLoughlin (Nursing), Megan Williams (Athletic Training), Gabrielle Dangler (Undecided) Aaron Bauman (Economics and Statistics), Katie Larson (Nursing).

Not pictured: Mohammed Almorae, Nicole Beltinck-Burden, Mark Clark, Danielle Collins, Nicole Cuthbertson, Derek Franke, Eric Gregory, Brittany Haton, Daniel Jacobs, Quincy Jones, Brenna Kind, Brittany Leatherman, Steven Marshall, Lindsay Martin, Angela Moyer, Jessica Ostrander, Kyler Parker, Kendra Robison, Candice Roestel, Kennedy Shea, Lizette Shirely, Mason Smeznik, Jessica Soltysiak, Christina Stewart, Shandel Veddler, Devin Warner, Lindsey Zielinski.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: