Leave a comment

MMCC Phi Theta Kappa inducts honor students

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society inducted 80 new members into the Alpha Omicron Omicron Chapter at Mid Michigan Community College on March 27. To join the honor society, students must have a 3.5 Grade Point Average or higher and have completed at least 12 credit hours at MMCC.

Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society encourages the academic achievements of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2 million members and 1,275 chapters throughout the world.

Chartered on April 18, 1989, MMCC’s chapter has a longstanding tradition of excellence. For the past five years, Alpha Omicron Omicron (AOO) has obtained the highest achievement level for a chapter—5 Star status. Through its activities, the chapter meaningfully serves the college and community. AOO is a friendly, active, community-oriented chapter.

Addressing the new inductees, Gavin Chupp, chapter president, noted the advantages of joining Phi Theta Kapp.

“Phi Theta Kappa programs encourage students to work closely with administrators on campus, just as they would work with higher management in the workplace,” Chupp said. “Students also engage in projects designed to encourage and develop life-long and service-oriented leaders by supporting campus and local entities. Our members build a strong network and support system, and many of our members and alumni become lifelong friends.”

New inductees pictured: Front row (L-R) and (Major): Luke Badger (Graphic Design), Reed Polanco (Mechanical Engineering), Michele Harrington (Nursing), Sarah Otto (Secondary Mathematics Education), Bailee Macklem (Nursing), Cara Maertens (Automotive), Harmony Amon (Nursing).

Row 2 (L-R) and (Major): Brain Bauman (Computer Science & Mathematics), Amanda Brake (Business and Political Science), Jordan Roth (Business Management), Jordan Gross (Business Management), Kaitlyn Corell (Social Sciences), Jo Hamlin (Criminal Justice), Kenneth Elliott (HRA/HVAC Heating-Refrigeration-Air Conditioning), Amy Sura (Early Childhood Education), Kelsey Barber (Physical Therapy Assistant), Rebecca Neal (Business Studies), Melinda Wallace (Social Sciences), Robert Hundley (Graphic Design), Jeannette Holland (Accounting), Joshua Arcuri (Automotive), Devin Humphreys (Political Science), Kent Feiss (Criminal Justice).

Row 3 (L-R) and (Major): Becky Jones (General Studies), Kharley Bailey (Business Management), Gabrielle DiGiovanni (Pre-Med), Kelly Peak (Liberal Arts), Mariah Roskamp (Automotive), Katie Fitzpatrick (Nursing), Katlin Kindel (Elementary Education), Samantha Barlow (Psychology), Casandra Reid (Graphic Design), Angela VanBlaricum (Physical Therapy Assistant), Abigail Averill (Secondary English Education).

Not pictured: Jeffrey Baker, Marissa Becker, Maria Bode, Emily Branigan, Michael Breidinger, Logan Buckley-Neff, Francis Chope, Lucas Colecchio, Jacob Court, Alexandria Crabtree, Elaine Davis, Brock Demo, Melanie Devries, Tabitha Faber, Becca Fisch, Clayton Forfinski, Margaret Groves, Alissa Hawks, Heather Holmes, Kara Hughston, Karli Jacob, Rebecca James, Kaitlyn Jenkins, Lisa Johnson, Randy Johnson, Joshua Kiger, Amber Lyon, Jaime Makela, Timothy Maloney, Andrea Martin, Michaela North, Jared Pappas, Kristopher Paulson, Andrew Pope, Rachyl Randall, Dylan Ricky, Jacob Rider, Hannah Robinson, Nicholas Scott, Alexandra Stark, Shelby Tilmann, Daniel Vincent, Vanessa Waldron, Brittany Westphal, Corinne Wezensky, Betty Wiggins.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: